Earn your high school diploma for free with HSED (High School Equivalency Diploma).

Class Information

  • The class consists of five subject areas: Reading, Writing, Social Studies, Science and Math.
  • Students must pass all five subjects to receive their diploma.
  • Before taking HSED official tests, students must pass the official practice test in each subject area. Practice tests are administered by an instructor in the classroom.
  • Students are required to attend classes.
  • Accommodations are available for students with disabilities and health-related needs.
  • Testing is available in Sioux City, Cherokee and Denison.
  • Testing in Spanish is available in Sioux City, and Denison.

Cost

There is no cost to attend the class. Students will need to purchase books as well as pay for the HSED official test. The cost for the test is $53.75. Scholarships are available for students who are unable to pay for the testing fee and books.

Class Information

Monday - Thursday
8:30am - 1:00pm or 4:00pm - 7:00pm
Session 1: August 19 - October 10, 2019
Session 2: October 21 - December 12, 2019
Session 3: January 13 - March 5, 2020
Session 4: March 16 - May 7, 2020

Locations

Sioux City

4647 Stone Avenue
Robert H. Kiser, A424
Call 712.274.8733 x1228

Cherokee

200 Victory Drive
Call 712.225.0238

Denison

11 N 35th Street
Room B7 
Call 712.263.3419

How Do I Enroll?

Attend an orientation class. Each orientation is 3 hours and is hold at Western Iowa Tech Community College in Sioux City. Students under the age of 19 will need to fill out additional paperwork before enrolling.

July 11 Thursday 2:30 pm
July 12 Friday 8:30 am
July 25 Thursday 2:30 pm
July 26 Friday 8:30 am
August 1 Thursday 2:30 pm
August 2 Friday 8:30 am
August 8 Thursday 2:30 pm
August 9 Friday 8:30 am
August 15 Thursday 2:30 pm
August 16 Friday 8:30 am
September 5 Thursday 2:30 pm
September 6 Friday 8:30 am
September 19 Thursday 2:30 pm
September 20 Friday 8:30 am
October 10 Thursday 2:30 pm
October 11 Friday 8:30 am
October 31 Thursday 2:30 pm
November 1 Friday 8:30 am
November 14 Thursday 2:30 pm
November 15 Friday 8:30 am

2020 Orientation Dates

January 9 Thursday 2:30 pm
January 10 Friday 8:30 am
January 23 Thursday 2:30 pm
January 24 Friday 8:30 am
February 6 Thursday 2:30 pm
February 7 Friday 8:30 am
February 20 Thursday 2:30 pm
February 21 Friday 8:30 am
March 12 Thursday 2:30 pm
March 13 Friday 8:30 am
March 26 Thursday 2:30 pm
March 27 Friday 8:30 am
April 16 Thursday 2:30 pm
April 17 Friday 8:30 am
April 23 Thursday 2:30 pm
April 24 Friday 8:30 am